Hangin’ Out In Mobile

Wraparound Porch in Mobile, AL

Recently, the hubs and I had a chance to visit friends who live in Mobile, Alabama.  It’s a very pretty town with some spectacular Victorian mansions, many of which have one of my favorite things – front porches.

It’s also Mardi Gras season, which is a very big deal in Mobile.  Many of the houses are decorated for Mardi Gras much the same way houses are decorated for Christmas, with wreaths, garlands, and even special flags.

We also visited the historic Oakleigh House, a beautiful mansion built in 1833 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Oakleigh House

Unfortunately, the house was closed the day we stopped by, but we were able to wander the gardens and view the magnificent oak trees that shadowed the house.  Mobile is famous for its canopy of oaks, and when you see these phenomenal trees you can understand why.

Oak trees at Oakleigh House

If not for my friends, I might never have visited Mobile.  It’s a lovely and gracious city that also knows how to throw a party.  I can assure, I’ll be back!

Published in: on February 16, 2011 at 6:25 PM  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vanessakellyauthor.wordpress.com/2011/02/16/hangin-out-in-mobile/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So glad you got to come visit us, Vanessa! And aren’t the porches gorgeous? I do think Mobile is lovely, but then I might be just a teeny bit biased;)

    • Manda, the porches AND trees are lovely. It’s the best combo!


Leave a comment